Red Light Cameras

CONTACT US +

  • P.O. Box 1000, Bradenton, FL 34206
  • (941) 748-2071
  • Email Us

Red Light Camera Hearing

Red Light Camera Hearings are held in the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) Chambers on the first floor of the Administration Building and begin at 9:00 am.

Manatee County Administration Building
1112 Manatee Avenue West 
Bradenton, Florida 34205

Upcoming Red Light Hearing Dates

  • January 20, 2022
  • February 17, 2022
  • March 17, 2022
  • April 21, 2022 
  • May 19, 2022 

Red Light Camera Violations

Red light camera violations are issued if you:

  • Cross the stop line and enter the intersection after the light has turned red
  • Fail to come to a complete stop at a red light before completing a right turn
  • Make a right turn during a red light at an intersection with a “No Right on Red” sign

View the Mark Wandall Traffic Safety Program Florida Statute for more information.

The camera flash does not mean you will get a violation notice. Every potential violation recorded by the camera is reviewed by a Manatee County Sheriff to determine if a violation occurred. A Notice of Violation will be mailed to the vehicle owner's registered address within 30 days of the incident.

If you have questions or want to contest your violation, you can call 1 (877) 580-5853 or visit the Red Light Enforcement online portal

 

Pay Red Light Camera Violation

If you have received a notice to pay a red-light camera violation, you can pay it online, by phone, or by mail. Violators of the Red Light Camera Safety program are fined a $158 civil penalty. Points will not be assessed to your driving record.

Please have your 9-digit citation number and 9-digit personal pin number available when you make a payment by web or phone. If you do not have this information please contact the customer service center toll free 1 (877) 580-5853 for assistance.

  • Pay online. Go to www.public.cite-web.com to pay with a debit or credit card (VISA or MasterCard).
  • Pay by phone. Call toll free 1 (877) 580-5853 and follow the automated prompts to pay with a debit or credit card available. (VISA/MasterCard).
  • Pay by mail. Check, cashier’s check, or money order should be made payable to Manatee County. Cash is not accepted. Write the citation number and vehicle tag number on your check or money order to ensure proper credit. Returned checks are subject to electronic redeposit for the face amount and a returned check fee of $35.00. Mail your payment and remittance stub to:

Manatee County Automated Red Light Enforcement System and Services
P.O. Box 1730
Denver, CO 80201-1730

If you do not pay your fine or request a hearing within 60 days of the Notice of Violation mail date, the Manatee County Sheriff’s Department will escalate the Notice of Violation to a Uniform Traffic Citation and transfer it to the Manatee County Clerk of Courts. While still a non-criminal violation with no points assessed, the minimum cost will be $264.

Request a Hearing to Contest a Violation

To request a hearing or deny or transfer accountability of your violation, please refer to the reverse side of the notice for detailed instructions. You may deny commission of the violation for the following reasons:

  • Yielding right-of-way
  • Directed by Law Enforcement officer
  • Stolen vehicle
  • Uniform traffic citation
  • Non-Responsibility
    • You must provide a signed and notarized affidavit stating you were not operating the vehicle at the time of the violation. You will need to provide the name, address, date of birth, and the driver's license number (if possible) of the person who was driving at the time of the violation.
You can request a red light hearing online. You will need to log in with your violation number and pin number, found on your notice.

Red Light Camera Hearing Fees

Administration Fee: $75

Cancellation Fee: $50

Failure to Appear (FTA) Fee: $75

Red Light Camera Locations

Manatee County operates red light cameras at intersections with a high number of traffic violations and collisions. The following intersections are currently monitored by red light safety cameras:

  • 34th St. W. @ 53rd Ave. W. (northbound traffic)
  • 34th St. W. @ 53rd Ave. W. (southbound traffic
  • 15th St. E. @ 57th Ave. E. (northbound traffic)
  • 15th St. E. @ 57th Ave. E. (southbound traffic)
  • 60th Ave E @ Hwy 301 (southbound traffic)
  • Hwy 301 @ 60th Ave. E. (northbound traffic)
  • Hwy 70 @ Tara Blvd. (westbound traffic)
  • 26th St. West @ Cortez Road (southbound traffic)
  • Cortez Rd West (684) and US 41 (14th Street West) (west bound traffic)
  • US 41 (14th Street West) and 53rd Ave East (south bound traffic)
  • 14th St. W @ Bayshore Gardens Pkwy (north bound traffic)
  • 14th St. W @ Bayshore Gardens Pkwy (south bound traffic) 
  • Bayshore Gardens Pkwy @ 14th St. W (east bound traffic)
  • Bayshore Gardens Pkwy @ 14th St. W (west bound traffic)
  • 45th St E (Lockwood Ridge Rd) @ 53rd Ave E (north bound traffic) 
  • 45th St E (Lockwood Ridge Rd) @ 53rd Ave E (south bound traffic)
  • 53rd Ave E @ Lockwood Ridge Rd (east bound traffic)
  • 53rd Ave E @ Lockwood Ridge Rd (west bound traffic)

Red Light Cameras FAQ

2013 Changes to the Red Light Camera Law
On July 1, 2013 the Florida Legislature passed House Bill 7125, which modifies language in Florida Statute 316.0083 Mark Wandall Traffic Safety Program regarding Red Light Camera (RLC) violation notification procedures, hearings and penalties. You may access the text of this legislation at CS/CS/HB 7125 - Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles

Which Manatee County intersections will be monitored by red light safety cameras?
Safety cameras are being installed at intersections that have the highest number of traffic violations and collisions. The following intersections are currently monitored by red light safety cameras: 

 

 

  • 34th St. W. @ 53rd Ave. W. (northbound traffic)
  • 34th St. W. @ 53rd Ave. W. (southbound traffic
  • 15th St. E. @ 57th Ave. E. (northbound traffic)
  • 15th St. E. @ 57th Ave. E. (southbound traffic)
  • 60th Ave E @ Hwy 301 (southbound traffic)
  • Hwy 301 @ 60th Ave. E. (northbound traffic)
  • Hwy 70 @ Tara Blvd. (westbound traffic)
  • 26th St. West @ Cortez Road (southbound traffic)
  • Cortez Rd West (684) and US 41 (14th Street West) (west bound traffic)
  • US 41 (14th Street West) and 53rd Ave East (south bound traffic)
  • 14th St. W @ Bayshore Gardens Pkwy (north bound traffic)
  • 14th St. W @ Bayshore Gardens Pkwy (south bound traffic) 
  • Bayshore Gardens Pkwy @ 14th St. W (east bound traffic)
  • Bayshore Gardens Pkwy @ 14th St. W (west bound traffic)
  • 45th St E (Lockwood Ridge Rd) @ 53rd Ave E (north bound traffic) 
  • 45th St E (Lockwood Ridge Rd) @ 53rd Ave E (south bound traffic)
  • 53rd Ave E @ Lockwood Ridge Rd (east bound traffic)
  • 53rd Ave E @ Lockwood Ridge Rd (west bound traffic)

Future intersections will be posted online as they are determined.

  • How to pay a Red Light Camera Violation notice
    Below are the available payment options for the Manatee County Redlight Camera program. You must have your 9 digit citation number and 9 digit personal pin number available to make a payment by web or phone. If you do not have this information please contact the customer service center toll free 1-877-580-5853 for assistance. 

    Payments are only accepted via Internet, Pay-by-Phone, or U.S. Mail. Payment Options:

    Pay by web: go to www.public.cite-web.com to pay via debit or credit card (VISA/MasterCard). Citation number and personal 9 digit pin required to make payment on line.

    Pay by phone: call toll free 1-877-580-5853 and follow the automated prompts. Please have your ticket number and your debit or credit card available. (VISA/MasterCard). Citation number and personal 9 digit pin required to make payment by phone.

    Pay by mail: check, cashier’s check, or money order should be made payable to Manatee County. Mail your payment and remittance stub to: Manatee County, Automated Red Light Enforcement System and Services, P.O. Box 1730, Denver, CO 80201-1730. Write the citation number and vehicle tag number on your check or money order TO ENSURE PROPER CREDIT. Returned checks are subject to electronic redeposit for the face amount and a returned check fee of $35.00. DO NOT SEND CASH.
  • If I am already in the intersection when the light turns red, will I receive a Notice of Violation?
    No. A violation occurs only when a motorist enters the intersection by crossing the stop line after the light has turned red.
  • Will I receive a Notice of Violation if I do not come to a complete stop when I'm making a right turn lane at an intersection monitored by red light safety camera?
    Yes. Red light safety cameras monitor right turn lanes when the lane is controlled by a traffic signal. If you fail to come to a complete stop before completing the right turn movement, a Notice of Violation will be issued. Please see section 316.0083 (1)(a), Florida Statute. If you make a right turn at an intersection with a “No Right on Red’ sign posted you will receive a Notice of Violation for making a right turn when the red signal is energized.
  • If I receive a Notice of Violation, will I have the opportunity to ask questions and/or contest the violation?
    Yes. A Notice of Violation will include a contact phone number (1-877-580-5853) and outline necessary steps in which to request a hearing to contest liability.
  • How do I contest or appeal a Notice of Violation?
    To request a hearing, deny or transfer accountability of a Notice of Violation, please refer to the reverse side of the notice for detailed instructions. You may deny commission of the violation for the following reasons:
    • Yielding right-of Way
    • Directed by Law Enforcement officer
    • Non-Responsibility
    • Stolen Vehicle
    • Uniform Traffic Citation
    If you would like to request a hearing with the County’s Hearing Officer please download the hearing request from Public Cite's webpage and follow the instructions. Below are the fees associated with scheduling a hearing with the Manatee County Hearing Officer. If you cancel a scheduled hearing date before the day-of, you will have to pay the cancellation fee. If your hearing is unsuccessful, you will need to pay the administration costs.

    Cancellation fee: $50.00
    Administration cost: $75.00
    FTA (failure to appear): $75.00
  • What if someone else was driving my car at the time of the violation?
    As the registered owner, you must provide a signed and notarized affidavit stating you were not operating the vehicle at the time of the violation and provide the name, address, date of birth and, if possible, the driver's license number of the person who was driving at the time of the violation. Details on this process are provided on the Notice of Violation. The Manatee County Sheriff’s Department will review and, if accepted, a Nominated Driver Notice of Violation will be issued to the person identified.
  • I recently traveled through a monitored intersection and saw a flash from the camera. Should I expect to get a Notice a Violation?
    The strobe of the camera flash does not guarantee that a Notice a Violation will be issued. Every potential violation that is recorded by the camera is reviewed by a Manatee County Sheriff to determine if a violation did in fact occur. If it is determined that a violation did occur, a Notice of Violation will be mailed to the vehicle owner's registered address within 30 days of the incident. For more information on the status of a Notice of Violation, please call 1-877-580-5853.
  • How much is the fine and how will receiving a Notice of Violation affect my driving record?
    This program has been approved by the State of Florida (Statute 316.0083 Mark Wandall Traffic Safety Program) and specifies that motorists receiving a violation issued through the Red Light Camera Safety program will be fined a $158 civil penalty. A Notice of Violation is noncriminal and points will not be assessed to your driving record. However, if not paid or no hearing has been requested within 60 days of the Notice of Violation mail date, the Manatee County Sheriff’s Department will escalate the Notice of Violation to a Uniform Traffic Citation and transfer it to the Manatee County Clerk of Courts. While still a non-criminal violation with no points assessed, the minimum cost will be $264.

    To view your full color images and video or to pay on line go to: http://www.public.cite-web.com. Please refer to the Notice of Violation for the citation and personnel pin numbers to access the information.
  • Will receiving a Notice of Violation impact my auto insurance premiums?
    Because a Notice of Violation does not result in the accrual of points to a driver's license, it is expected that insurance premiums would not be affected. However, Manatee County has no control over insurance companies or how they adjust their rates; therefore, it’s recommend that concerned citizens contact their insurance agency for confirmation.