Manatee County accepting applications for Myakka City Fire Control District

  • Mar 21, 2017

MANATEE COUNTY, FL (March 21, 2017) – Manatee County is accepting applications for two fire commission seat to serve the Myakka City Fire Control District. Each appointed commissioner will fill a four-year term.

 Applications are due April 11 and can be found online at

The District operates two staffed fire stations: one located on Wauchula Road in the village of Myakka City and the second station on State Road 70 located near Verna Bethany, Verna and Panther Ridge.

The Fire Board oversees the fire district with the authority to spend money, incur debt and hire qualified fire personnel. The Board meets on a monthly basis at a location, date and time that is agreed upon by the board members.

The Myakka City Fire Control District was established in 1986 by a special act of the Manatee County Board of County Commissioners as a Manatee County Dependent Fire District. The Fire District is located east of County Road 675 and extends easterly to the Desoto and Hardee County lines. The District responds to more than 500 emergency calls annually, covering an area of 230 square miles.

Myakka residents may inquire as to seat and residency requirements by contacting Myakka City Fire Chief Dan Cacchiotti at (941) 322-6525 or email him at

For more information on Manatee County Government, visit online at or call (941) 748-4501. You can also follow us on Facebook at and on Twitter, @ManateeGov.