Tourist Development Council Advisory Board


  • Leanne Keeling, Executive Assistant, Bradenton Area Convention & Visitors Bureau
  • (941) 729-9177, ext. 3944
  • Email Us


It is the duty of the Tourist Development Council to make recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners concerning the effective operation of the projects set forth in the Tourist Development Plan and the uses for which Tourist Development Tax Revenue may be expended.

Membership Requirements

The Tourist Development Council consists of nine volunteer members who are appointed by the Board of County Commissioners for 4 year terms (with the exception of the Chairman, who is appointed yearly) representing the following categories:

  • Three Elected Officials
    • One Manatee County Commissioner, who shall serve as Chairman
    • One elected official from the largest municipality (Bradenton)
    • One elected official from any other municipality in Manatee County
  • Four owners/operators of hotels, motels or other short term rental accommodations in Manatee County that ARE subject to the 5% resort tax in Manatee County.
  • Two interested citizens who are involved in the tourist industry and have demonstrated an interest in tourism but who are NOT subject to the 5% resort tax in Manatee County.
  • All must be electors of Manatee County.


The Advisory Board application must be submitted for the applicant to be considered for appointment. The application is available for downloading on the Apply for an Advisory Board page.


Meetings are held every other month at 9 a.m. in various locations throughout Manatee County.

2024 Meeting Schedule

  • For more information contact Leanne Keeling, Sr. Admin. Specialist, Bradenton Area Convention & Visitors Bureau, at (941) 729-9177, ext. 3944 or via email: [email protected]


Name Term Seat
Ray Turner, Manatee County Commissioner (Chair) January 2025 Elected Official
Gene Brown, Mayor, City of Bradenton June 2024 Elected Official
Shirley Groover Bryant, Mayor, City of Palmetto
June 2024
Elected Official
Jiten Patel June 2025 Hotelier
Ed Chiles June 2025 Hotelier
Eric Cairns June 2025 Hotelier
Rahul Patel
June 2025 Hotelier
Dave Wick June 2026 Interested Citizen
Norma Kennedy June 2026 Interested Citizen

Meeting Agendas and Minutes

To view the agenda or minutes, click on the year and meeting date below.

2023 Meetings

February 13, 2023: Download Agenda