Manatee County Government Administrative Center Commission Chambers, First Floor 9:00 a.m. - October 11, 2016
REVISED October 11, 2016 - Regular Meeting
Agenda Item #45

Planning Commission Advisory Board Appointments

Briefing Provided Upon Request

Contact and/or Presenter Information

   John Barnott, Director, 941-748-4501 ext. 3887

   Bobbi Roy, Planning Coordinator, 941-748-4501 ext. 6878

Action Requested

Appointment of two people to the Planning Commission with terms to end October 14, 2020.

Enabling/Regulating Authority

Manatee County Comprehensive Plan

Manatee County Land Development Code

Background Discussion
  • There are two seats for reappointment on the Planning Commission. Both, Michael Rahn and Paul Rutledge, current members of the Planning Commission, are seeking reappointment.  
  • Both terms will expire on October 14, 2020.
  • The following people have submitted applications for Planning Commission appointment:
    • Samuel S. Erb
    • O. Denise Greer
    • Larry Grossman
    • Shelley Hamilton
    • Michael P. Howe
    • Gregory L. Janssen
    • Sid Lewis
    • Kevin Morris
    • Kanti Patel
    • Pete G. Peters
    • Donald E. Popowski
    • Michael C. Rahn *** Currently on Planning Commission seeking reappointment
    • H. David Roth
    • Paul Rutledge *** Currently on Planning Commission seeking reappointment
    • Walter Sowa III
  • A copy of all applications, matrix of applicants, and current members are attached.

County Attorney Review
Not Reviewed (No apparent legal issues)

Explanation of Other

Reviewing Attorney

Instructions to Board Records

Cost and Funds Source Account Number and Name

Amount and Frequency of Recurring Costs

Attachment:  Matrix.pdf
Attachment:  Current Members.pdf
Attachment:  Planning Commission Applications.pdf