Manatee County Government Administrative Center Commission Chambers, First Floor 9:00 a.m. - July 26, 2016
July 26, 2016 - Regular Meeting
Agenda Item #30

Distribution of Proceeds of the County's Five Cent Local Option Fuel Tax

Briefing Provided Upon Request

Contact and/or Presenter Information
Jan Brewer, Director, Financial Management Dept., x 3726

Action Requested
Motion to adopt Resolution R-16-089 providing for distribution of proceeds of the County's Five Cent Local Option Fuel Tax.

Enabling/Regulating Authority
Florida Statutes Section 336.025, Manatee County Ordinance 06-28.

Background Discussion

The County's Five Cent Local Option Fuel Tax was adopted by Ordinance 06-28 on April 11, 2006.

Florida Statutes require that the distribution of the proceeds of the tax being periodically adjusted.

According to F.S. 336.025(4)(a), the distribution of the proceeds of the tax shall be distributed among the county government and eligible municipalities based on the transportation expenditures of each for the immediately preceding five fiscal years, as a proportion of the total of such expenditures for the county and all municipalities within the county.

With the distribution recalculated per F.S. 336.025(4)(a), the following table shows the current percentages and the proposed new percentages using the new calculations.

Municipality Current
Anna Maria 0.51% 0.89%
Bradenton 8.20% 9.94%
Bradenton Beach 0.64% 0.36%
Holmes Beach 2.24% 1.36%
Longboat Key 1.09% 0.63%
Palmetto 6.88% 7.17%
Manatee County 80.44%


All municipalities have been notified of the recalculated distribution percentages per letter from the County Administrator.

County Attorney Review
Other (Requires explanation in field below)

Explanation of Other
Resolution R-16-089 has been reviewed by the County Attorney's Office.

Reviewing Attorney

Instructions to Board Records

Please provide certified copies of approved resolution to the following:

Candi Cruz, FMD - candice.cruz@mymanatee.org

Budget Office, FMD - budget@mymanatee.org,

Dave Ansley, FDOR - ansleyd@dor.state.fl.us,

Amy Barrow, FDOR - barrowa@dor.state.fl.us,

Lori Stephens, Internal Audit - lori.stephens@manateeclerk.com,

Mayor Dan Murphy, AMI - ammayor@cityofannamaria.com,

Mayor Wayne Poston, CoB - wayne.poston@cityofbradenton.com,

Mayor Bob Johnson, CoHB - hbmayor@holmesbeachfl.org,

Mayor Jack Duncan, LBK - jduncan@longboatkey.org,

Mayor Shirley Groover Bryant, CoP - sbryant@palmettofl.org,

Mayor William Shearon, CoBB - wshearon@cityofbradentonbeach.com

Cost and Funds Source Account Number and Name

Amount and Frequency of Recurring Costs

Attachment:  Distribution Schedule for Five Cent Gas Tax Renewal.pdf
Attachment:  R-16-089 5 Ct Gas Tax Distribution Resolution.pdf