Four County Commissioners take oath, begin four-year terms

Four County Commissioners take oath, begin four-year terms
Posted on 11/18/2020

MANATEE COUNTY, FL (Nov. 18, 2020) – Three new County Commissioners — George Kruse, Kevin Van Ostenbridge and James Satcher — were sworn into office and Commissioner Vanessa Baugh took oath for a third term during a brief ceremony yesterday.

The four were surrounded by friends and family as they were sworn in at 9 a.m. yesterday before several work session topics that began at 10 a.m.

Commissioner Satcher, elected to District 1, is a devoted husband, father of five and minister with hands-on experience making positive changes in Manatee County. Satcher leads a successful nonprofit with more than two decades of ministry that has provided aid to orphans, single mothers and the homeless.

Commissioner Van Ostenbridge, elected to District 3, is a Manatee County native and third generation Floridian with a passion for his community. He began a successful real estate career in 2003 and became a Top Producer at Boyd Realty eventually managing their branch office on Anna Maria Island. Kevin also owns and operates Be Easy Tours, a Bradenton-based excursion company.

Commissioner Baugh begins a third term serving District 5. She served as Chairman of the County Commission in 2016 and as Chair of the Port Authority from 2017 to 2019. She is a member of the Tampa Bay Regional Planning Council. She and her husband own and operate Vanessa Fine Jewelry in Lakewood Ranch.

Commissioner Kruse, elected to the countywide District 7 seat, grew up in Sarasota and moved to Manatee County in 2008. He has made a career in commercial real estate finance and affordable housing. He serves on the Leadership Manatee Alumni Association Board and is a board member of the Manatee Tiger Bay Club.

View photos from yesterday's ceremony.

Commissioners Whitmore, Servia and Bellamy have two years remaining on their four-year terms that began in 2018.