Inspections

CONTACT US +

  • Schedule an Inspection
  • (941) 749-3047

The Inspection department provides professional inspections for all trades and disciplines that are required under a permit in the County, including structural, gas, plumbing, mechanical, electrical, as well as compliance with local codes for manufactured housing and mobile homes. 

Items Needed on Job Site: 

  • Plans - Signed and Stamped in RED 
  • Permit Card
  • Notice of Commencement  (if applicable)

Manage Your Inspections From your Phone

Use our phone system to check your permit plans review, pay fees, schedule, cancel and get inspection results. See instructions and inspection codes list below.

Schedule An Inspection

To schedule or cancel an inspection you may either do so through Online Services or by calling or texted our automated IVR system. 

Please note: You can cancel an inspection up to 4:00 p.m. of the day before the inspection. After that time, you will need to wait until after 7:00 am the day of the inspection to determine who your inspector is.  You may then call your inspector the day of the inspection to cancel.

Inspections via Automated Phone System

Selectron is an automated phone system that allows citizens to call the Manatee County Building Department and schedule, reschedule, cancel, and obtain the results of an inspection. You can also listen to a playback of where your permit is at in the application process.

Call (941) 749-3047. You will be prompted through the entire process.

  • Press (1) for English or Press (2) for Spanish. You may also press (7) to use Speech Recognition.
  • Press (1) to schedule an inspection.
  • Press (2) to cancel an inspection.
  • Press (3) to obtain inspection results or hear the assigned inspector.
  • Press (5) to listen to your permit's plan review information
  • Press (6) to request a copy of Certificate of Occupancy (C/O) or Certificate of Completion (C/C).

After you have scheduled the Inspection, you will be able to request an automated call back with inspection results after the inspection has been completed.

Please have your record number, including the prefix, available, as you will be prompted for this (example: BLD1803-1234, PLN1901-5678). It may also be helpful to know the inspection code that you are calling about. If you do not know your inspection code, please refer to your permit card. You will also be asked if you want to hear the entire list of inspections.

Inspections via Text Messaging

Building and Development Services also offers the option to manage your inspections via toll free text messaging.

To get started, please send any text message to (833) 392-8861. You will then be prompted to enter either Schedule, Cancel, Reschedule, and Results. As with the automated phone system, please have your record number and inspection code available, as you will be prompted to provide them.

Inspector Contact Information

Thomas Ryan
Construction Review / Inspections Manager
Cell: (941) 748-4501 ext. 3816
Email: thomas.ryan@mymanatee.org

Building Inspections

NOTE: Pursuant to county policy Inspectors county issued cell phones are not allowed to receive text messages.
To communicate with the Inspectors, please call them directly using the cell phone numbers listed below.

Inspectors E-mail Cell Phone
 Adam Dekow adam.dekow@mymanatee.org (941) 773-6676
Albert "Al" Bateman albert.bateman@mymanatee.org (941) 705-3239
Antonio "Tony" Griessler antonio.griessler@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2312
Arnulfo Pena arnulfo.pena@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2301
Brock Ayers brock.ayers@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2203
Brock Rice brock.rice@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2380
Bruce Mayo (Electrical Senior) bruce.mayo@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2402
Chris Winn chris.winn@mymanatee.org (941) 705-3240
Craig Richter craig.richter@mymanatee.org (941) 920-7315
Derek Medina derek.medina@mymanatee.org (941) 718-0163
Douglas Bellissimo douglas.bellissimo@mymanatee.org (941) 773-0054
Fernando Aguilera fernando.aguilera@mymanatee.org (941) 465-0821
Gerald Chery gerald.chery@mymanatee.org  (941)718-0170
Harry Stetser harry.stetser@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2283
Jalil Jennings jalil.jennings@mymanatee.org (941) 896-2070
James "Jim" Duckworth james.duckworth@mymanatee.org (941) 713-5153
Jeff Johnson (Building Senior) jeff.johnson@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2324
John Doss john.doss@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2285
John Wright john.wright@mymanatee.org (941) 465-1185
Justin Langer justin.langer@mymanatee.org (941) 896-2297
Kathy Clay kathy.clay@mymanatee.org (941) 465-1609
Keith Cycotte keith.cycotte@mymanatee.org (941) 920-7329
Kristopher "Kris" Darty kristopher.darty@mymanatee.org (941) 896-2068
Michael Glassburn michael.glassburn@mymanatee.org (941) 920-7313
Michael Miliano (Building Senior) michael.miliano@mymanatee.org (941) 527-2368
Shawn Baxter (Mechanical Senior) shawn.baxter@mymanatee.org (941) 920-7174
Sonny Woods, Jr. sonny.woodsjr@mymanatee.org (941) 713-8613
 
Admin Staff E-mail Office Number
Loretta Merrill (Admin Supervisor) loretta.merrill@mymanatee.org (941) 742-4190
Ardath Melton ardath.melton@mymanatee.org (941) 742-4190
Cynthia Hale cynthia.hale@mymanatee.org (941)- 742-4190
Susan Hunt susan.hunt@mymanatee.org (941) 742-4190
Taylor Murray taylor.murray@mymanatee.org (941) 742-4190
Ruth Harold ruth.harold@mymanatee.org (941) 742-4190

Code Compliance Inspections

Inspectors E-mail Cell Phone
Kris Weiskopf (Driveway Supervisor) kris.weiskopf@mymanatee.org (941) 896-2024
Amy Cook amy.cook@mymanatee.org (941) 713-5144
Brandon Young brandon.young@mymanatee.org (941) 737-2576
Donna Finch donna.finch@mymanatee.org (941) 896-2038
Randy West randy.west@mymanatee.org (941)718-2114

Are You Ready For a Certificate of Occupancy or Completion?

  1. Make sure that all of your Final inspections have been passed - i.e. Building Final, Electrical Final, Mechanical Final and/or Plumbing Final.

  2. All of the CO Holds have been released

  3. All of the Fees have been paid

To check the items listed above visit our Online Services portal.