Make a Public Records Request

Image Make a Public Records Request

Florida's Government-in-the-Sunshine law provides a right of access to governmental proceedings at both the state and local levels. It applies to any gathering of two or more members of the same board to discuss some matter which will foreseeably come before that board for action. Almost all state and local public bodies are covered by the open meetings requirements with the exception of the judiciary and the state Legislature which has its own constitutional provision relating to access.

Individuals may also request a public record by phone, in writing or in person.

 

The Florida Public Records Act provides for a right of access to inspect and copy existing public records. It does not mandate the custodian answer questions about or related to County records or County business. It also does not mandate the County create new records or reports to accommodate a request for information.

 

While requests may remain anonymous by statute, the requestor may need to provide contact information so the County can notify them when the records are ready for review or, in the event of a service charge, of the estimated cost.

 

Florida Statutes s. 119.07(4)(d) permits a governmental entity to assert and collect in advance a "special service charge" for records requests which will result in the extensive use of clerical and/or technology staff, which the County determines to be more than 30 minutes. 

 

The charge must be reasonable and based on the actual staff costs incurred. The charge must be calculated by using the pay rate of the lowest-paid staff person capable of performing the needed response work.  To this base salary, the law allows the County to add the cost of the employee’s benefits, such as FICA and Retirement contributions.

 

As allowed by Florida Statute Chapter 119 copy charges are as follows:

  • 15 (1-sided – up to & including 11”x17”)
  • .20 (2-sided – up to & including 11”x17”)
  • 2.00 (18” x 24”) 4.00 (24” x 36”)
  • Compact Disc (CD): $10.00 per CD plus research fees if applicable.
  • Certification Stamp: $1.00 per page

Please note, the cashier closes at 4:00 pm.