Library Card Policies

Apply Online for a library card. You will still need to visit a library location with identification to verify.

 

Obtaining a Library Card

 

Apply online or download the application form for a library card. (Aplicación en español.)

Library cards are FREE to people who reside, own property, go to school, and/or work in Manatee County.

 

Bring one of the following showing your Manatee County address to the Central Library or any of the branches:

 

Florida Photo ID, or
Florida Driver’s license, or
Local School ID (16 and up)
 
OR
 
Use one from each of the sections A + B:
 
Section A
·         Photo ID (for instance a credit card or Sam’s Club card)
Section B
·         Utility bill
·         Voter registration
·         Tax document
·         Property appraiser document
·         Vehicle registration
·         Lease (must be at least 6 months + 1 day)
·         Military ID
·         Mortgage
·         Pay stub with a local address
·         Consulate ID with a Manatee address
·         Supervisor of Elections address
·         Federal mail
·         Letter from shelter on their stationary

 


Applications for children 15 and younger require the signature of a parent/guardian. Proper I.D. is required for everyone age 16 and up. When necessary, the library will mail a card for address verification.

 

Non-residents may get a library card upon payment of a $20.00 annual fee.
Anyone making a one-time donation of $100 or more to the Library Foundation will
receive a Lifetime library card.

 

Reciprocal borrowing: A free library card can be obtained by showing a valid card from a library in the following counties: Citrus, DeSoto, Hardee, Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Okeechobee, Pasco, Pinellas, and Sarasota.

 

 

Loan Periods

  • Most books, audio, and periodicals: 3 weeks
  • New books: 2 weeks
  • Entertainment DVDs and videos:  1 week
  • Non-fiction DVDs and videos: 3 weeks

 

  • Materials may be renewed twice (in person, by phone, or via our website), as long as there are no reserves placed on them, or they are not overdue.
  • Materials may be borrowed from one Manatee County Public Library location and returned to any other.

  

 

Fines and Fees

Fines:

  • All items (except new reader/literacy materials): 25¢ per item per day; maximum fine is the replacement cost of EACH item that is overdue.

  • To encourage the use of new reader/literacy materials, no fines will be charged on these items; however, if damaged or lost, fees for repair or replacement will be assessed.

  • Borrowing privileges will be suspended for any account that is not paid in full. 

  • Borrowing privileges will be suspended for any account that has unreturned overdue items. 

  • The library will notify (via U.S. Mail), patrons whose accounts are past due for more than 30 days.

  • Patron accounts that are past due for more than 60 days AND have an unpaid balance in excess of $24.99 are handled by a collection agency.

Fees:

  • Non-resident library card: $20.00 per year (2nd card, $1.00)
  • Processing fee for lost materials: $3.00 per item
  • Reference-by-mail: $2.00/$5.00 (in/out of county residents) includes first 10 pages, then 25¢ per page thereafter
  • Replacement charge for lost card: none