County Commission appoints new Chair, leadership positions for 2016

  • Dec 1, 2015

MANATEE COUNTY, FL (Dec. 1, 2015) – Vanessa Baugh, the District 5 County Commissioner first elected in 2012, was voted 2016 Chair of the Board of County Commissioners.

2016 County Commission Chair Vanessa Baugh
2016 County Commission Chair Vanessa Baugh

 Commissioner Betsy Benac was elected Chair of the Manatee County Port Authority as Commissioners voted on 2016’s leadership and committee appointments.


Commissioner Carol Whitmore will serve as the Commission’s Tourist Development Council representative and chair.


District 3 Commissioner John Chappie was elected the Board’s First Vice Chair. District 4 Commissioner Robin DiSabatino will be Second Vice Chair and District 2 Commissioner Charles Smith will be Third Vice Chair.


Commissioner Chappie will be First Vice Chair of the Port Authority; Commissioner Smith will be Second Vice Chair of the Port Authority and Commissioner DiSabatino will serve as Third Vice Chair.


For more information on Manatee County Government, visit online at or call (941) 748-4501. You can also follow us on Facebook and on Twitter, @ManateeGov.