The responsibilities of your County Commission

What do County Commissioners do?

The powers and duties of County Commissioners can be found in Florida Statute Chapter 125.01. Generally, the Board is the legislative branch and governing body of Manatee County Government. It is comprised of seven members. Five members are elected from single-member districts, and two are elected county-wide. Each district commissioner must reside in the district for which he or she seeks election.

The Board approves the County’s operating and capital budgets and the County’s Capital Improvement Program, which is a schedule of all County infrastructure projects. They may take action on any programs to improve the County and the welfare of its residents.

The County Commission also serves as the Port Authority. They also serve on local, regional and state boards. The Commission appoints the County Administrator, County Attorney and numerous advisory and regulatory board members. County Commissioners are directed to perform legislative functions of government by developing policy for the management of Manatee County.

In summary, the Board legislates policy to protect the health, welfare, safety and quality of life of Manatee County residents. They disseminate information to the public through ordinances and resolutions.